Return to John Thurlow's Children's Sites


Great Videos from Journey North

Google Video

Video of Life Cycle By 4th Graders in Florida

Research Process Sites

Kid Zone Facts


Enchanted Learning

Animal Diversity Web



Monarch Watch Gallery
(pictures open in a new window)

Tracking Monarchs

Journey North

Monarch Watch


Other Butterfly Sites

Children's Butterfly Sites

The butterfly's life cycle

Butterflies go four stages of life, but they only look like butterflies in the final stage. Birds, frogs, snakes and insects also change as they grow.

1. An adult butterfly lays an egg.

2. The egg hatches into a caterpillar or larva.

3. The caterpillar forms the chrysalis or pupa.

4. The chrysalis matures into a butterfly.